Herglotz-Nevanlinna Theory Applied to Passive, Causal and Active Systems (19w5209)


Aaron Welters (Florida Institute of Technology - Melbourne)

(Advanced Science Research Center, City University of New York)

Mats Gustafsson (Lund University)

Annemarie Luger (Stockholm University)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Herglotz-Nevanlinna Theory Applied to Passive, Causal and Active Systems" workshop in Banff from October 6 to October 11, 2019.

There are not so many instances where mathematicians, who are interested in theory and applications, and
electrical engineers working towards developing applications, who recognized the power of mathematics, are
actually meeting. It is the purpose of the proposed workshop to bring together representatives from these groups.
Toward this goal the workshop organizers include two electrical engineers and three mathematicians. With joint forces
it is possible to treat new applications of old and well understood (mathematical) objects as well as advancing the
classical study of them. Recent advances in electrical engineering have shown that mathematical tools from
functional theory can be brought to bear on finding fundamental limits on the performance of metamaterials and composites, generally, as well as defining limitations to broadband cloaking. It is also hoped that the results of
this workshop would ultimately improve imaging methods. This is of obvious importance to medical imaging,
geophysical prospecting, and homeland security.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).