Discrete Geometry and Symmetry (15w5019)


(University of Calgary)

(York University)

(Northeastern University)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Discrete Geometry and Symmetry" workshop from February 8th to February 13th, 2015.

Highly symmetric figures in ordinary space have been studied since the early days of geometry, and a strong strain of mathematics since classical times has centered on them. They naturally fall into the realm of discrete geometry. In a broad sense, discrete geometry investigates discrete structures in geometry and combinatorics such as polytopes, polyhedra and maps, tessellations (tilings), complexes and graphs, efficient sphere arrangements, packing and covering arrangements of solids, and lattices. The Workshop focuses on aspects of symmetry in the analysis and classification of such structures, and exploits symmetry as a unifying theme. The goal is to gather experts and emerging researchers in discrete geometry and related areas, to discuss recent developments (over the last 5-10 years) in the study of highly-symmetric discrete geometric structures, encourage new collaborative ventures, and achieve further progress on fundamental questions in the field. The last three decades have seen a revival of interest in discrete geometry and symmetry, and have produced groundbreaking new discoveries.
Exciting new directions of research are pointing to a fascinating world of highly-symmetric space structures still to be discovered.
The Workshop is a timely event and is expected to capitalize on this momentum.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).