Partner Institute Liaisons

Casa Matemática Oaxaca

José Antonio Seade Kuri (UNAM) - Singularities Theory and Complex Geometry, Algebraic Topology, Algebraic and Differential Geometry and Geometric Analysis

Luis Montejano (UNAM) - Topology, Geometry

Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics

Jian-shu Li (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology) - Representation theory and Automorphic forms

Yongbin Ruan (Zhejiang University) - Geometry and Topology

Shou-Wu Zhang (Princeton University) - Number Theory & Arithmetic Algebraic Geometry

Institute of Mathematics at the University of Granada

José Alfredo Cañizo (Universidad de Granada) - Partial Differential Equations

Ana Aguilera (University of Granada) - Modelling and forecasting with functional data, Categorical data analysis, Statistical applications in different fields

Jose Carrillo (University of Oxford) - Partial Differential Equations

Joaquín Pérez (Universidad de Granada) - Geometric analysis, with special emphasis in variational problems of geometric type: minimal and constant mean curvature surfaces, isoperimetric problem, and others(Topology, classification, group theory, combinatorics, real and complex analysis, Mathematical Analysis and Functional Analysis)

Miguel Sanchez Caja (Universidad de Granada) - Differential Geometry, Variational methods, Mathematical Physics, Lorentzian Geometry

Bio Sketches

Liaisons - Casa Matemática Oaxaca

José Antonio Seade Kuri (UNAM)

José Seade obtained his BSc in mathematics from the National University of Mexico (UNAM) in 1976 and his Masters and PhD from the University of Oxford in 1977 and 1980, respectively. Since then, he has worked at the Institute of Mathematics, UNAM, where he has been director since April of 2014. His present research interests are on singularities theory and complex geometry and he has authored several publications in algebraic topology, algebraic and differential geometry and geometric analysis. He has been awarded the Ferran Sunyer i Balaguer Prize twice (2005 and 2012), was President of the Mexican Mathematical Society (1986-87) and founded the Mexican Mathematics Olympiades. He also founded the Solomon Lefschetz International Laboratory of Mathematics, in Cuernavaca, Mexico, which is associated with the CNRS of France, and is the current Scientific Coordinator of that laboratory. He was a member of the Scientific Council of UMALCA, the Latin American and Caribbean Union of Mathematicians (2001-2009) and since then has been a member of the Executive Committee of UMALCA.


Luis Montejano (UNAM)

Luis Montejano is Professor at the National University of México, Campus-Juriquilla and was Head of the Institute of Mathematics of the same university, 1994-1998. He received his Ph.D. from Utah University in 1979 and was Member of the Institute of Advanced Studies, Princeton, N.J., E.U.A., 1980-1981. He received the Alexander von Humboldt Scholarship at the University of Heidelberg 1989-1990 and also received the Prize of the Russian Academy of Science, Steklov Institute, Topology, 2001. His research is related with applications of algebraic topology to discrete and convex geometry.


Liaisons - Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics

Jian-shu Li (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Jian-shu Li is the current President of the Hong Kong Mathematical Society. Li was born in Xiaoshan, Zhejiang, China. He studied mathematics at the Department of Mathematics at Zhejiang University, and later obtained his Ph.D. in mathematics from Yale University. Before moving to Hong Kong, Li was a professor at the University of Maryland, College Park and Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Li is a Professor of Mathematics at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. He is also a researcher at the Center of Mathematical Sciences, Zhejiang University, as well as a guest professor and doctoral advisor at Zhejiang University's Department of Mathematics.


Yongbin Ruan (Zhejiang University)

Yongbin Ruan is a Chinese mathematician who deals with algebraic geometry, differential geometry and symplectic geometry with applications in string theory. Ruan studied from 1978 at Sichuan University with a degree in 1985. 1985/86 he was teaching assistant at the University of Wisconsin. He received his doctorate in 1991 from Robinson Kirby (and Tomasz Mrowka) at the University of California, Berkeley ( Gauge theory and its applications to Riemannian Geometry ). As a post-doctoral student, he was at Michigan State University. In 1993 he became Assistant Professor at the University of Utah, 1995 Associate Professor and 1999 Professor at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Since 2006 he is a professor at the University of Michigan.

He has been a visiting professor at ETH Zurich, Hong Kong and MIT. In 1993 and 2004 he was at the IHES , 1993 at the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics, 1994 at the Isaac Newton Institute and 1994 at the MSRI. In 1998 he was Invited Speaker at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Berlin ( Quantum Cohomology and its Applications ). From 1995 to 1997 he was a Sloan Research Fellow. He is a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society.


Shou-Wu Zhang (Princeton University)

Shou-Wu Zhang is a Chinese-American mathematician known for his work in number theory and arithmetic algebraic geometry. He is currently a Professor of Mathematics at Princeton University. He was admitted to the Sun Yat-sen University chemistry department in 1980; he later transferred to the mathematics department of the same institution. He received his bachelor's degree in 1983. After Zhang received his master's degree from the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1986, he studied under Lucien Szpiro and Gerd Faltings at Columbia University and Princeton University, completing his PhD in 1991. He was a member of the Institute for Advanced Study and an assistant professor at Princeton University from 1991 to 1996. Zhang has been tenured at Columbia University since 1996 and at Princeton University since 2011.


Liaisons - Institute of Mathematics at the University of Granada

José Alfredo Cañizo (Universidad de Granada)


Ana Aguilera (University of Granada)


Jose Carrillo (University of Oxford)


Joaquín Pérez (Universidad de Granada)


Miguel Sanchez Caja (Universidad de Granada)