Algebraic Stacks: Progress and Prospects (12w5027)


(University of Maryland - College Park)

(Ohio State University)

Hsian-Hua Tseng (Ohio State University)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Algebraic Stacks: Progress and Prospects" workshop from March 25th to March 30th, 2012.

The title of the conference is

Algebraic stacks: progress and prospects

and its theme will be a survey of the state of the art in algebraic stacks and its interplay with

other areas of Mathematics, in particular connections with geometric representation theory

(especially the geometric Langlands correspondence and related areas), mathematical physics, differential graded algebraic geometry and also algebraic topology.

The organizers are: Patrick Brosnan, Roy Joshua and Hsian-Hua Tseng.

The theory of stacks originated with the work of Grothendieck and his students in the 60s and is closely related to the notion of Grothendieck topologies, introduced by Grothendieck, as an extension of the notion of a topological space. After a rather slow beginning, with a few notable papers in the 60s by Mumford and Deligne and Mumford and by Michael Artin in the 70s, the theory of algebraic stacks gained acceptance as a main-stream mathematical tool in the last 15 years or so, because of the wide-spread applications that were discovered in diverse fields as mathematical physics, geometric representation theory (especially centered around the geometric Langlands correspondence), higher topoi and categories, differential graded algebraic geometry and also algebraic topology.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).