Women in Noncommutative Algebra and Representation Theory 3 (22w5033)


(Rice University)

(University of Leeds)

(Universidad de Buenos Aires)

(Northeastern University)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Women in Noncommutative Algebra and Representation Theory 3" workshop in Banff from April 3 - 8, 2022.

Noncommutative algebra and representation theory are two closely intertwined areas of research that have strong ties to many other fields in mathematics and quantum physics such as conformal field theory, operator algebras, string theory, topological field theory, and the various guises of noncommutative geometry. Noncommutative algebra creates an algebraic framework for generalizing the study of polynomials to other rings that fail to be commutative. Representation theory is a powerful tool for investigating the action of an algebraic object on a space as linear operators and matrices. As in many areas of mathematics, women and non-binary persons have been underrepresented in noncommutative algebra and representation theory. The goal of this workshop is to bring together some of the best experts and junior participants working on these topics to collaborate on research projects. All participants in the workshop will be women and non-binary persons.

Like our first and second WINART workshops (held at BIRS in April 2016 and at U. Leeds in May 2019, resp.), the WINART3 workshop will have a great impact on the research careers of the participants in attendance, and as a result, it will positively impact the research area as a whole.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).