Poisson Geometry and Artin-Schelter Regular Algebras (24w5505)


(The University of Hong Kong)

Huang Hongdi (Rice University)

XiaoLan Yu (Hangzhou Normal University)

(University of Washington)

Brent Pym (McGill University)


The Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics will host the “Poisson Geometry and Artin-Schelter Regular Algebras” workshop in Hangzhou, China from October 13 - 18, 2024.

Poisson geometry and the study of Artin-Schelter regular algebras are two important topics in mathematics. Recent advances in both topics are intimately connected with deformation theory, the study of Yang-Baxter equations, and many other topics in algebra, algebraic geometry and representation theory. These connections suggest for us to look into new ideas and new phenomena in the study of Artin-Schelter regular algebras by using Poisson geometry.

This workshop will tackle some fundamental open questions about Artin-Schelter regular algebras, in particular, elliptic algebras, and their associated Poisson structures. In particular, it will focus on the correspondence between the representations of elliptic algebras and the symplectic leaves of their semi-classical limits, as well as on the relationship between the deformation theory of Artin-Schelter regular algebras and that of the derived category or the A-infinity-category of related projective schemes. This workshop brings together leading experts in algebra and geometry from around the world to identify and attack these outstanding problems and to collaborate for future breakthroughs.

The Institute for Advanced Study in Mathematics (IASM) in Hangzhou, China, and the Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) in Banff, are collaborative Canada-US-Mexico ventures that provide an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station in Banff is supported by Canada’s Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta’s Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico’s Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).