Adaptive Numerical Methods for Partial Differential Equations with Applications (18w5148)


(Memorial University of Newfoundland)

Chris Budd (University of Bath)

(University of Kansas)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "Adaptive Numerical Methods for Partial Differential Equations with Applications" workshop from May 27th to June 1st, 2018.

Scientific computing is an increasingly important tool in many areas of science and engineering, allowing scientists to computational explore systems that are not amenable to theoretical or experimental investigation. It is widely used in engineering in the design of cars, aircraft, wind turbines, oil extraction etc, in medicine in the simulation of tissues and medical imaging, and it plays a central role in the forecasting of weather and climate. However a major bottle neck in current scientific computing practice is the difficulty of resolving small scale effects without excessive computational cost. For example predicting a thunderstorm, which is very small on the scale of the earth. Adaptive methods afford the possibility of achieving much better resolution, and thus much more accurate predictions, at little or no extra cost. This workshop brings together scientists from the fields of mathematics, computing, physics, engineering and meteorology to discuss the latex advances in adaptive methods and their applications to many real life problems. Participants will include both senior and young researchers to allow vigorous discussion and collaboration which will advance the state-of-the-art in this exciting and emerging field.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).