The Sixth Northwest Functional Analysis Seminar (15w2192)


(University of Regina)

(University of Calgary)

Ian Putnam (University of Victoria)

(University of Alberta)


The Banff International Research Station will host the "The Sixth Northwest Functional Analysis Seminar" workshop in Banff from April 10 to April 12.

The Northwest Functional Analysis Seminar (NWFAS) is a bi-annual regional
scientific meeting of researchers (faculty and postdoctoral) and graduate students in
functional analysis. The field of functional analysis is a highly regarded and thriving
branch of modern mathematics. Western Canada is particularly strong in the field, as
there are researchers in the region who are internationally recognised for their contributions
to Banach space geometry, non-commutative harmonic analysis, asymptotic geometric analysis,
convex geometry, operator algebras, non-commutative geometry, quantum information theory,
and operator theory. This includes several Canada Research Chairs.

The NWFAS participants are drawn from universities in Western Canada and the
American Northwest. A novelty of the seminar is that young researchers form the
bulk of the featured speakers, providing them with a venue to communicate their
research results and to form contacts with other functional analysts within the
region. The program also features one or two lectures by senior researchers who
address topics that are currently attracting high levels of interest.

The Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS) is a collaborative Canada-US-Mexico venture that provides an environment for creative interaction as well as the exchange of ideas, knowledge, and methods within the Mathematical Sciences, with related disciplines and with industry. The research station is located at The Banff Centre in Alberta and is supported by Canada's Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), Alberta's Advanced Education and Technology, and Mexico's Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnología (CONACYT).